Archive for August 10, 2011


Communicating Atheism is, from what I see, a topic that has been at the forefront of many discussions, I’m not sure if this is a continuing issue or not but I thought I would add my feelings for what they’re worth. As a new ‘non believer’ I assume that the ‘communicating Atheism’ problem/discussion would apply to people like me wishing to join the movement and individuals who are questioning their religion. I have in general found the information and extent of knowledge to be abundant but I have made a few observations that I believe may be hindering the rapid spread of common sense.

Common Sense being the first issue that I feel has been dealt with incorrectly in places. Looking at certain posts by bloggers and vloggers alike, I have found that the notion of ‘the elite’ recurred and it is assumed by some people that the idea of Natural Selection, The Big Bang and Evolution couldn’t possibly be understood by someone without a college degree in physics or biology or palaeontology. This simply is not true. The average industrial worker can switch on the Discovery Channel and gain enough information to, at the very least, question creationism. Some members of the community seem to believe ‘more is more’ and we seem to be bombarded with math and science till, I believe the ‘average’ believer could be alienated.

I recently viewed a post on You Tube in which the producer of the post poses 10 questions to believers… beginning with ‘I’m assuming you are a Christian with a college degree’ My question is ‘Why?’ The questions posed are common sense and assuming the moderately educated wouldn’t understand is shutting off a large portion of the opposition.

Having said all that I understand that not all people are willing to listen to the truth let alone even consider trying to understand it.Fundamentalists who refuse to listen to the arguments put before them are never going to change their views, Atheists can only plant the seeds of knowledge and hope they root. However as we all know most Theists are not fundamentalists.

As a recent IRISH Catholic (the ugliest of all Catholics I believe) I found that the language that was used to describe my previous beliefs and me as a result was slightly insulting. My previous belief systems caused me to be referred to as stupid, as an idiots as uneducated and I believe this defamatory language is not helping in the spread of Atheist ideals. Imagine you are a Muslim and you begin to question your whole belief system, you log on and begin to search for information and knowledge… this act in itself is brave and could get you in a lot of ‘hot water’ … you come across a very informative website, only to hear its members, members that you wish to join in a community you wish to become a part of, inform you that you and your family and your friends are moronic and obtuse for having believed in a god. When the truth is that you, and your family and your friends are simply programmed to think a certain way. Believers are not brain-less they either choose to believe a lie or have never questioned that lie. Either way I don’t think slagging them off is going to be positively effective.

Ok so these are a couple of criticisms that I have, but if your experience has been different please let me know.

YouTube – 10 questions that every intelligent Christian must answer.